Preface to Volume 2020, Special Issue on Designs for the NIST Lightweight Standardisation Process

Itai Dinur¹ and Gaëtan Leurent²

¹ Ben-Gurion University, Beer Sheva, Israel
² Inria, Paris, France

IACR Transactions on Symmetric Cryptology (ToSC) is a forum for original results in all areas of symmetric cryptography, including the design and analysis of block ciphers, stream ciphers, encryption schemes, hash functions, message authentication codes, (cryptographic) permutations, authenticated encryption schemes, cryptanalysis and evaluation tools, and security issues and solutions regarding their implementation.

This special issue is dedicated to second-round candidates in NIST's (National Institute of Standards and Technology) ongoing standardisation process for lightweight cryptography. This process started with a call for algorithms that received 57 submissions in February 2019, and 32 of them advanced to the second round in August 2019¹. One of the main goals of this issue was to encourage designers to submit high-quality schemes which might otherwise not have been formally published. It is the first special issue of ToSC dedicated to a specific topic.

As all ToSC issues, this special issue strives to maintain a high quality review process and a high quality of published articles. Full papers are assigned to at least three members of the Editorial Board; for submissions by Editorial Board members this was increased to at least four. These members write detailed and careful reviews (usually without relying on subreviewers). Moreover, we have had a rebuttal phase, allowing authors to respond to the review comments before the final decisions. If necessary, the review process enables further interactions between the authors and the reviewers, mediated by the Co-Editors-in-Chief.

Overall, we are very pleased with the quality and quantity of submissions, the detailed review reports written by the reviewers and the substantial efforts by the authors to further improve the quality of their work. We think that the review process, and in particular the use of major revisions, leads to an increased quality of the papers that are published.

For this special issue we received 17 submissions, out of which 12 were accepted, 8 of those after a minor revision, and 1 of those after a major revision.

We would like to thank the authors of all submissions for contributing high quality submissions. In particular, we would like to thank the Editorial Board members; we value their hard work and dedication to write constructive and detailed reviews and to engage in interesting discussions. Many Editorial Board members spent additional time as shepherds to help the authors improving their works.

¹https://csrc.nist.gov/Projects/lightweight-cryptography/round-2-candidates

We also would like to thank Anne Canteaut, Shai Halevi, Gregor Leander, Friedrich Wiemer, and Phil Hebborn for their work and support. We hope that the papers in this volume of IACR Transactions on Symmetric Cryptology (ToSC) prove valuable and we are glad to see that ToSC is becoming the leading international venue publishing the top research on symmetric cryptology.

May 2020

Itai Dinur Gaëtan Leurent

Editorial Board

Frederik Armknecht	University of Mannheim, Mannheim, Germany
Tomer Ashur	KU Leuven, Leuven, Belgium
	TU Eindhoven, Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Subhadeep Banik	Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (EPFL), Lausanne, Switzerland
Zhenzhen Bao	Nanyang Technological University (NTU), Singapore, Singapore
Christof Beierle	Ruhr University Bochum, Bochum, Germany
Christina Boura	University of Versailles, Versailles, France
Anne Canteaut	Inria, Paris, France
Joan Daemen	Radboud University, Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Patrick Derbez	University of Rennes, Rennes, France
	Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS), Rennes, France
	Institut de Recherche en Informatique et Systèmes Aléatoires
	(IRISA), Rennes, France
Christoph Dobraunig	Radboud University, Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Orr Dunkelman	University of Haifa, Haifa, Israel
Maria Eichlseder	Graz University of Technology, Graz, Austria
Takanori Isobe	University of Hyogo, Kobe, Japan
Jérémy Jean	Agence Nationale de la Sécurité des Systèmes d'Information
	(ANSSI), Paris, France
Pierre Karpman	Université Grenoble Alpes, Grenoble, France
Stefan Kölbl	Google, Zurich, Switzerland
Virginie Lallemand	Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS) Nancy, France
Jooyoung Lee	Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST), Daejeon, South Korea
Stefan Lucks	Bauhaus-Universität Weimar, Weimar, Germany
Atul Luykx	Swirlds Inc., United States
Willi Meier	University of Applied Sciences and Arts Northwestern Switzer- land (FHNW), Windisch, Switzerland
Florian Mendel	Infineon Technologies, Munich, Germany
Bart Mennink	Radboud University, Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Brice Minaud	Inria, Paris, France
	École Normale Supérieure (ENS), Paris, France
Kazuhiko Minematsu	NEC, Kawasaki, Japan
Nicky Mouha	National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST),
v	Gaithersburg, United States
Samuel Neves	University of Coimbra, Coimbra, Portugal
Léo Perrin	Inria, Paris, France
Thomas Peyrin	Nanyang Technological University (NTU), Singapore,
	Singapore
Bart Preneel	KU Leuven, Leuven, Belgium
Yu Sasaki	NTT Secure Platform Laboratories, Tokyo, Japan
Hadi Soleimany	Shahid Beheshti University, Teheran, Iran
Ling Song	Nanyang Technological University (NTU), Singapore
	Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, China
Francois-Xavier Standaert	UCLouvain, Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium
Siwei Sun	Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, China
Elmar Tischhauser	Philipps-Universität Marburg, Marburg, Germany

Yosuke Todo	NTT Secure Platform Laboratories, Tokyo, Japan
Gilles Van Assche	STMicroelectronics, Diegem, Belgium
Damian Vizár	Centre suisse d'électronique et de microtechnique (CSEM),
	Neuchâtel, Switzerland

External reviewers

Vasily Mikhalev